About UsMediaSupport Us

Ancient Airs for Brass and Organ

Washington Symphonic Brass

an elite ensemble of 13 brass, 3 percussion with organ

Like most brass recordings, "Ancient Airs for Brass & Organ" contains no works originally done for modern brass instruments. What is unusual about the collection is that none of these works (with the exception of the Bach) were written for any specific instrument.

Some were folk melodies handed down throughout the ages to be performed or sung on whatever was available. Others (like Ancient Airs) were originally written for Lute, but traditionally played on many different instruments, culminating in it's most famous arrangement by Resphigi for orchestra. The selections convey prominently a spirit of joy and celebration; repertoire from previous centuries that inspires and pleases.

Ancient Airs and Dances - Respighi

  1. Gagliarda (3:46) listen now
  2. Aire de Corte (8:00) listen now
  3. Balletto detto "Il Conte Orlande" (2:55)
  4. Passacaglia (3:44)
  5. Laura soave Balletto con Gagliarda, Slatarello e Canario (3:55)
  6. Siciliana (3:44)
  7. Passo mezzo e Mascherada (3:33) listen now
  1. Antiphon: Karitas Habundat (Love Abounds) (3:57) - Hildegard von Bingen
  2. "Como poden per sas culpas" (3:05) - from the Cantaiges de Santa Maria
  3. Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248 - J.S. Bach
  4. Jauchzet, Frohlocket! (8:12) listen now
  5. Nun mögt ihr stolzen Feinde schrecken (4:50)
  6. Nun seid ihr wohl gerochen (3:14)
  1. Greensleeves - Traditional (3:01)
  2. Suite de Ballets - Michael Praetorius (2:53)
  3. The Wexford Carol - Traditional (4:01) listen now
  4. Il Est Né (He is Born) - Traditional (4:16)

Ancient Airs for Brass and Organ --$15.00 each *includes shipping & handling

Official PayPal Seal 

All content and images
© 1998-2011
The Washington Symphonic
Brass & Percussion Ensemble